Latest Reviews

4

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.5 beta
on 19 January 2020, reviewed by: IntelliMoo

#35

My player of choice, now that MPC-HC is dead [at least officially], VLC refuses to implement seek bar preview [maybe finally in 4.0?], and PotPlayer is just too damn messy & complicated for its own good.

-- Note there is an audio output bug with the "MPC Audio Renderer" (required to use for proper sounding time stretching): I have found that if the audio sample rate has to be converted from 44100 to 48000 for a stereo source file, the audio output will be erroneously upmixed to all surround speakers instead of remaining stereo; if the sample rate of a stereo source file is already 48000, then the audio output remains correctly stereo.

This bug does not occur with the DirectSound renderers, but unfortunately audio time stretching is no good with those.

5

FLAC Frontend 2.1
on 18 January 2020, reviewed by: Mane

#34

Me gusta mucho el código flac.

5

Zoom Player 15.0 rc2
on 27 December 2019, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#33

Zoom Player is a DirectShow 32 bit only (no 64 bit version yet..) Windows player; it's reliable, quite fast, with really few bugs, works perfectly with madVR (high quality video renderer) and MPC Wasapi Audio renderer.

The menu is rich of options (in a positive way), in advanced mode it's probably one of the players with more possibilities of real custom settings (ex. Zoom Player can change the Pixel Aspect Ratio of the display in a very precise way, not many players have this function as for 2019).

IMHO the GUI (graphic user interface) could be a bit improved, but it's really a minor point. All in all a very good video player.

5

K-Lite Mega Codec Pack 15.3
on 26 December 2019, reviewed by: Rangga

#32

THANK YOU SO MUCH MUCH TO YOU GUYS OR YOU ALL WHO MAKES THIS CODEC! THANK YOU!

1

KMPlayer 4.2.2.34
on 15 December 2019, reviewed by: Ziggy1978

#31

For new users: KMPlayer was made originally with the code of MPC and FFDSHOW, but when the developer sold the software to Pandora TV, slowly it became a useless video player.

It's full of big and small bugs, the interface and settings refer to Windows 2000 in a bad way, old filters, old plugins no more used, stutter and jitter, audio and video out of sync, a mess. madVR is not well integrated.

Also, the 32 bit version is no more recommended from the KMPlayer team itself on their forum 'cause is full of unwanted ads, also while playing video in windowed mode!

They advice to use the 64 bit version, which is a clone of MPC-HC, with the same options and very similar GUI.

So, my advice is: please don't use this software, please prefer capable video players like MPC-HC or MPC-BE or Zoom Player or JRiver, made by honest and competent developers.

1

Freemake Video Converter 4.1.10.426
on 02 December 2019, reviewed by: Renji

#30

Do not buy this software.

Impossible to contact them directly through email, chat or telephone even you can put up with a bureaucratic runaround if you have an issue.

1

Freemake Audio Converter 1.1.8.20
on 28 November 2019, reviewed by: Dr H

#29

The old version (2017) was free and unlimited.

This "upgrade" limits you to 3-minute files, unless you pay them $20-$40.

5

MPC Video Renderer 0.3.2.860
on 05 November 2019, reviewed by: kingofpower

#28

This is the best video renderer among Built-in D3D11 video renderer (potplayer), Sync renderer - Gothic (MPC-HC) and MPC video renderer (MPC-BE). Other video players that cannot use LAV filters definitely have poor video quality.

In the past, potplayer was the king of video player. The main reason is her built-in D3D11 video renderer can use the full advantage of D3D11. But now, we have another better choice.

5

1by1 1.93
on 02 November 2019, reviewed by: aldabe

#27

the best audio player ever. simple, straightforward and outstandingly small.

5

Media Player Classic - BE 1.5.4 beta
on 29 August 2019, reviewed by: Poulgrain

#26

Handles a large variety of formats, including the subtitles,
However the SAMI format is not fully supported.

All the languages inside the SAMI file are displayed simultaneously on the video.

It would be great if one could select individually among the different languages inside a SAMI file.

1

K-Lite Codec Pack Update 15.0.9
on 10 August 2019, reviewed by: GUY

#25

It only says EU! (Europe), not US!


Admin's note: it's as fast as a US mirror. If you have speed issues, let us know: codecs.com/contact_us.htm

1

Freemake Video Converter 4.1.10.270
on 19 June 2019, reviewed by: Worst

#24

It is not free.It is very slow if you don't pay.

In addition,it cannot recognize my RTX 2060,saying my computer does not support CUDA,so I think it is outdated.

NEVER use it,just use HandBreak,which is really free and fast.

5

K-Lite Codec Pack 14.9.8
on 05 June 2019, reviewed by: isam

#23

one thing I have noticed in the windows media player that is if you play mkv file with subtitles in srt format in the same directory of the mkv file, then nothing displayed on the screen but it doesn't happen with mp4 files and srt subtitles files.

2

Freemake Video Converter 4.1.10.245
on 29 May 2019, reviewed by: Barti

#22

Does what is prommised, if you pay. Not free unless you want their logo permanently plastered accross your screen.

4

MP3jam 1.1.5.1
on 20 May 2019, reviewed by: Kat

#21

It hasn't worked for weeks regardless of this latest version. Very sad, as I have used this app for a couple of years now. Please fix.

5

FLAC 1.3.2-2019-05-04
on 15 May 2019, reviewed by: Dmitry

#20

The very last version from developers was updated 2017.01.01 )) Today is 2019.05.16. Think.

Admin's note: It's latest git version, compiled by NetRanger.

1

Gom Player 2.3.40
on 10 May 2019, reviewed by: Stephen Roesner

#19

I wish it had a rating or worthless liars.

It says it can play m4v files but when I try to play my apple itunes m4v file it does nothing - and support wow just incredible basically a robot sending the same email over and over.
If you want to throw away our money then buy buy buy otherwise go somewhere else this software is basically a minor video player you get with any computer.

5

MediaInfo 19.04
on 02 May 2019, reviewed by: lione

#18

Can't display media infos (like bitrate, length, etc) any more after i updated (Windows 7), so i uninstalled it.

1

WebP Codec 0.19.9
on 23 April 2019, reviewed by: Yunta

#17

Deleted by antivirus program as infected. Probably not safe to use.

Admin's Note: it has been checked and is clean.

5

WebP Codec 0.19.9
on 02 April 2019, reviewed by: Martijn

#16

Works perfectly and easily for showing webp thumbs.

5

Media Player Classic - HC 1.8.6.1
on 01 April 2019, reviewed by: dega

#15

One of the best player. Works on all windows platform and minimal resources of processor and memory.

5

VSDC Free Video Converter 2.4.7
on 25 March 2019, reviewed by: Mark Sims

#14

Very nice software , powerful and very efficient .

The installer does not work, so I had to extract it's contents using Universal Extractor.

I copied MLScreenCapturePXT.dll to System32 and registered it with the command "regsvr32 MLScreenCapturePXT.dll".

Then I laboriously made the default registry settings using the notes supplied in the help file. I opened the property page from GraphEdit, but I found that only the Track Foreground Window option would work.

If I selected Get From Window there would be nothing in the drop down dialogue box and the Pick Window button does nothing.

I did manage to record a a video using this filter in conjunction with VirtualDub but the CPU usage topped out at 100% and there were dropped frames galore.

1

4K Video Downloader 4.5
on 09 March 2019, reviewed by: John Lester

#12

Keeps going bonkers and trying to download all kinds of random videos at the same time.

5

1Click DVD Copy 6.1.2.6
on 09 March 2019, reviewed by: Richard

#11

IN THE PAST I HAVE PURCHASED TWO DIFFERENT COPIES OF THIS SOFTWARE, BOTH ARE USELESS BECAUSE I KEEP GETTING THE MESSAGE THEY ARE ACTIVE ON ANOTHER COMPUTER AND CANNOT BE ACTIVATED. I DO NOT HAVE ANOTHER COMPUTER WITH THIS SOFTWARE INSTALLED.

5

ID3 Tag Editor 3.5
on 26 February 2019, reviewed by: Archuleta Christmas

#10

5 out of 5 Stars, easy peasy.

1

Media Player Classic - HC 1.8.4-9
on 23 February 2019, reviewed by: koBMR

#9

Absolute complete garbage.

Unable to parse subtitle directories, has over 200 hotkeys that must be cleared individually,. virtually non-existent support or even knowledge of the program amongst the support.

Avoid at all costs.

4

WebP Codec 0.19.9
on 22 February 2019, reviewed by: FirstStateMark

#8

Took a while to install but it works. Running Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium.

Would like a log to see just what got installed and where.

5

MainConcept Motion JPEG Codec 3.2.4
on 19 February 2019, reviewed by: Phil

#7

I find it very powerful and helpful.

5

jetAudio 8.1.7
on 16 February 2019, reviewed by: James

#6

Been using Jet audio for about 12 years now, it is the best media player around.

5

FastStone Image Viewer 6.9
on 16 February 2019, reviewed by: Watany

#5

Amazing better than ACDsee and it's for free, Thanks.

5

XnView 2.47
on 16 February 2019, reviewed by: Watany

#4

Amazing, I love it.. Thanks.

4

jetAudio 8.1.7
on 13 February 2019, reviewed by: ray tracer

#3

One of my favorite features with JetAudio is being able to set inpoint and outpoint for video segments, such as when learning a guitar part.

It's also frame-accurate so you can step through frames as desired.

5

Splash 2.3
on 07 February 2019, reviewed by: Rodrigo Amaral Ferreira

#2

best player shot to watch HD movies.

5

SPlayer 4.0.13 beta
on 30 January 2019, reviewed by: bililing

#1

Good news...Splayer reborn from the ashes...i will accompany.


My player of choice, now that MPC-HC is dead [at least officially], VLC refuses to implement seek bar preview [...
Me gusta mucho el código flac.
Zoom Player is a DirectShow 32 bit only (no 64 bit version yet..) Windows player; it's reliable, quite fast, with really ...
view more »

Codecs.com is known also as Free-Codecs.com. All website reviews, graphics, design and logo are Copyright © 2004-2020 Codecs.com